Closest Center:

Find a Center


What is the CogAT?

The Cognitive Abilities Test (CogAT) is an aptitude test to determine a child’s eligibility into gifted-talented programs. Unlike traditional standardized tests that measure students’ content knowledge in areas such as math, science, reading and writing, CogAT tests the students’ abilities in reasoning, problem-solving and logic.

What is the format of the test?

The CogAT is administered in different ways across the country. It is important you reach out to your school to get more information about the district/school’s administration of the test. Here are some things we do know:

  • The test is a series of multiple-choice tests broken down into sections, also known as batteries.
  • The test can be administered online or on paper
  • Your child will most likely take the test in a small group of students, consisting no more than 20 students
  • All the batteries will most likely be tested together
Boy writing a test

Let Best Brains help your child become CogAT ready this year!

What are the parts of CogAT?

CogAT has 3 Batteries (or parts): Verbal, Quantitative, and Non-verbal. Each battery has 3 subtests, which are shown in the chart below. The main difference to note is that grades K-2 are picture-based, while grades 3-8 are text-based.

Battery Subtests
Verbal Picture/Verbal Analogies
Sentence Completion
Picture/Verbal Classification
Quantitative Number Analogies
Number Series
Number Puzzles
Non-verbal Figure Matrices
Figure Classification
Paper Folding
Note: The lower levels contain Picture Analogies/Classification whereas the older levels contain Verbal Analogies/Classification.

How many questions are on the CogAT?

Administration time may vary, depending on how long the proctor takes to administer the test. Students are generally given between 30-45 minutes per battery. With administration time, it takes between two to three hours to complete all three batteries. In total, the CogAT has between 118 and 176 questions, depending on the level.

What grades are eligible to take the CogAT?

The CogAT is administered at different grades depending on the district/school your child attends. Tests are available for Kindergarten through 8th grade. Generally, there will be 1-2 grades for testing eligibility within a district. Check your local schools for further information.

Level Grade
Level 5/6 Kindergarten
Level 7 1st grade
Level 8 2nd grade
Level 9 3rd grade
Level 10 4th grade
Level 11 5th grade
Level 12 6th grade
Level 13 7th grade
Level 14 8th grade

Parents Get in Touch